40 MPs Push for Gen. Tumwine’s Censure, Bobi Wine Shies Out

Kasambya County Member of Parliament (MP), Mbwatekamwa Gaffa has refuted allegations that he bribed to withdraw the censure motion against the Minister for Security, Gen. Elly Tumwine.

He made the revelation while addressing journalists at parliament were he revealed a list of members of parliament who signed for the motion.

The list Mbwatekemwa displayed to the media indicate that only 39 members of parliament signed yet he required 150 signatures of members to be allowed to move this censure motion in parliament against General Tumwine who is accused of using his office to block the human rights committee members from accessing the alleged safe house where civilians are tortured.

Mwatekamwa told the media that no member of parliament who did not sign this motion should claim that is against the human rights abuses.

He also added that those who did not sign should not lie to the public that they were threatened by General Tumwine, arguing that Tumwine never asked anyone not to sign but they were just fearing him.

He said that he was not bribed by anybody to drop this motion but was disappointed by the turn-up of members, adding that if any other person wants to take over from where he ended is ready and will offer support to him or her.

According to the censure motion petition list, most of NRM members of parliament decline to sign except for some so-called rebel NRM members, these include; Manjia county MP John Baptist Nambeshe, Lwemiyaga county MP, Theodore Ssekikubo, Kumi district MP, Monica Amoding, Kasanda North MP, Patrick Nsamba, Kasambya County MP, Mbwatekamwa Gaffa and Buyaga West MP, Barnabus Tinkasiimire.

Kap Fungaroo, Moses Kasibante, Medard Sseggona, Mathius Mpuga, Muhindo Harold, Muwanga Kivumbi, Namayanja Florence, Veronica Nanyondo, Wilfred Nuwagaba, Nsereko Muhamad, Aol Betty Ochan, Ochen Julius, Fred Turyamuhweza, Charles Gutmoi, Adeke Anne Ebbaju and Joseph Ssewungu.

Some of the opposition members of parliament who did not sign this censure motion petition include Kyadondo East MP Robert Kyagulanyi aka Bobi Wine, Makndye East MP Ibrahim Kasozi, Nakawa County MP, Micheal Kabaziguruka, Nandala Mafabi, Abdul Katuntu, Winnie Kiiza, Kasiano Wadri, Angelina Osege, Jimmy Akena among others.


Written by 

Related posts

Leave a Comment